The IHRA currently has 34 member countries, 1 liaison country, and 7 observer countries. The national government of each country forms a delegation, generally consisting of leading educators, academics and representatives of museums and memorials. Many delegates also have specific areas of expertise, for example the genocide of the Roma; antisemitism and Holocaust denial; and other genocides and crimes against humanity.

The Chairmanship of the IHRA is held each year by a different member country on a voluntary basis. The Chairmanship hosts the IHRA plenary meetings up to twice a year in its country. The Plenary is the official decision-making body of the IHRA, consisting of the Head of Delegation from each IHRA member country, and responsible for adopting recommendations and decisions made by IHRA experts.

These experts meet in specialist Working Groups and Committees in the days leading up to Plenary Session, and work together remotely on multinational projects throughout the rest of the year. The unique composition of the IHRA means it is uniquely placed to take the lead on issues related to Holocaust education, research and remembrance in the international political arena.

Working Groups and Committees

The IHRA’s network of delegates is divided into three Working Groups. The Academic, Education, and Memorials and Museums Working Groups are each tasked with following developments in their respective sectors, identifying priority areas and making recommendations to the IHRA Plenary regarding how the IHRA can most effectively make an impact.

In addition to their core affiliation to these Working Groups, delegates also bring their expertise to IHRA’s specialized Committees. The Committee on the Genocide of the Roma, the Committee on Antisemitism and Holocaust Denial and the Committee on the Holocaust, Genocide, and Crimes Against Humanity are issue-focused standing committees that bring together experts from a range of different professional backgrounds and countries to recommend multidisciplinary solutions to persistent challenges.

Other, more temporary IHRA Committees form to coordinate specific IHRA initiatives, such as the “Seeking Protection” blog or the multi-year research project examining teaching and learning about the Holocaust.

Chairmanship 2019

Georges Santer
Ambassador Georges Santer at the IHRA Handover

On 5 March, 2019, Luxembourg assumed the Chairmanship of the International Holocaust Remembrance Alliance (IHRA). The IHRA Chair is Ambassador Georges Santer.

 A distinguished career diplomat, Ambassador Santer graduated with a Master’s Degree in Philosophy (History and German language) from the Diplomatic Academy in Vienna and has been working for the Luxembourg Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs ever since. Among others, he has served at the Embassies in Paris, Madrid, Beijing, Vienna and Berlin, and from 2004 to 2008 was Ambassador to the Holy See. Since 2016 Ambassador Santer has been the Head of Luxembourg’s Delegation to the International Holocaust Remembrance Alliance. He speaks Luxembourgish, French, German, English, Italian and Spanish.

Honorary Chairman and Advisor to the IHRA

The IHRA has an Honorary Chairman, Professor Yehuda Bauer, and an Advisor to the IHRA, Dr Wichert ten Have. The Honorary Chairman and the Advisor to the IHRA are available to consultant with and guide the IHRA Chair, Executive Secretary and working group members on key content issues. Biographies and photos of Professor Yehuda Bauer and Professor Wichert ten Have are available in the IHRA Press Kit.


Yehuda Bauer
Professor Yehuda Bauer
Wichert ten Have
Professor Wichert ten Have













The IHRA Plenary in Berlin under the Canadian Chairmanship (2012). IHRA