The IHRA currently has 34 member countries, 1 liaison country, and 7 observer countries. The national government of each country forms a delegation, generally consisting of leading educators, academics and representatives of museums and memorials. Many delegates also have specific areas of expertise, for example the genocide of the Roma; antisemitism and Holocaust denial; and other genocides and crimes against humanity.

The Presidency of the IHRA is held each year by a different member country on a voluntary basis. The Presidency hosts the IHRA plenary meetings up to twice a year in its country. The Plenary is the official decision-making body of the IHRA, consisting of the Head of Delegation from each IHRA member country, and responsible for adopting recommendations and decisions made by IHRA experts.

These experts meet in specialist Working Groups and Committees in the days leading up to Plenary Session, and work together remotely on multinational projects throughout the rest of the year. The unique composition of the IHRA means it is uniquely placed to take the lead on issues related to Holocaust education, research and remembrance in the international political arena.

Working Groups and Committees

The IHRA’s network of delegates is divided into three Working Groups. The Academic, Education, and Memorials and Museums Working Groups are each tasked with following developments in their respective sectors, identifying priority areas and making recommendations to the IHRA Plenary regarding how the IHRA can most effectively make an impact.

In addition to their core affiliation to these Working Groups, delegates also bring their expertise to IHRA’s specialized Committees. The Committee on the Genocide of the Roma, the Committee on Antisemitism and Holocaust Denial and the Committee on the Holocaust, Genocide, and Crimes Against Humanity are issue-focused standing committees that bring together experts from a range of different professional backgrounds and countries to recommend multidisciplinary solutions to persistent challenges.

Other, more temporary IHRA Committees form to coordinate specific IHRA initiatives, such as the “Seeking Protection” blog or the multi-year research project examining teaching and learning about the Holocaust.

Presidency 2020

On 3 March, 2020, Germany assumed the Presidency of the International Holocaust Remembrance Alliance (IHRA). The IHRA President is Ambassador Michaela Küchler.

Ambassador Michaela Kuechler
Ambassador Michaela Küchler

Michaela Küchler is currently the German Foreign Office Special Representative for Relations with Jewish Organisations, Holocaust Remembrance, Antisemitism, and international affairs relating to Sinti and Roma. She works on issues such as building cooperation with international organizations like OSCE/ODIHR, UNESCO and the EU, cooperating with countries in the field of combatting antisemitism, maintaining dialogue with Jewish organizations throughout Germany, the USA and central and eastern Europe, as well as funding projects on remembrance of the Holocaust and the genocide of the Sinti and Roma. As current President of the International Holocaust Remembrance Alliance, her priority is combatting denial, distortion and relativization of the Holocaust.

More information about the current German IHRA Presidency can be found at


Honorary Chairman and Advisor to the IHRA

The IHRA has an Honorary Chairman, Professor Yehuda Bauer, and an Advisor to the IHRA, Dr Wichert ten Have. The Honorary Chairman and the Advisor to the IHRA are available to consultant with and guide the IHRA Chair, Secretary General and working group members on key content issues. Biographies and photos of Professor Yehuda Bauer and Professor Wichert ten Have are available in the IHRA Press Kit.


Yehuda Bauer
Professor Yehuda Bauer
Wichert ten Have
Professor Wichert ten Have













The IHRA Plenary in Berlin under the Canadian Chairmanship (2012). IHRA