IHRA Chair of the United Kingdom IHRA Presidency 2024 – Lord Eric Pickles

IHRA Chair Lord Eric Pickles at the Zagreb Plenary

Lord Pickles serves as the UK Special Envoy on Post Holocaust Issues, a position he has held since 2015, demonstrating his commitment to remembrance of the Holocaust and genocide of the Roma on a global scale. He served as the Vice President of the Holocaust Memorial Day Trust from 2019 to 2023 and as the Chairman of Conservative Friends of Israel in the House of Lords since 2018.

Lord Pickles’ career reflects a legacy of public service. He has held a seat in the House of Lords since 2018 and was a Member of Parliament for Brentwood and Ongar for 25 years (1992 – 2017) prior to that. He served as the Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government from 2010 – 2015, was the Minister for Religion from 2012 – 2015, and Chairman of the Conservative Party from 2009 – 2010. Lord Pickles played a pivotal role as the UK Anti-Corruption Champion from 2015 to 2017, and took on the responsibility of chairing the Government’s Advisory Committee on Business Appointments in 2020.

The UK IHRA Presidency runs from 1 March 2024 to 28 February 2025.

IHRA Secretary General

Dr. Kathrin Meyer has been the Secretary General of the IHRA since 2008. She provides support and guidance to the IHRA Chair and maintains continuity from Presidency to Presidency. Together with her colleagues at the IHRA Permanent Office she coordinates the organization’s activities. Dr. Meyer also serves as the IHRA’s primary spokesperson.

Advisory roles

Dr. Robert Williams – Advisor to the IHRA

Dr. Robert Williams was appointed Advisor to the IHRA during the 2022 Gothenburg Plenary. He is the USC Shoah Foundation Finci-Viterbi Executive Director, was on the steering committee of the Global Task Force Against Holocaust Distortion, and served for four years as Chair of the Committee on Antisemitism and Holocaust Denial.

Sir Andrew Burns – Chair of the Grant Review Committee and Strategy Implementation

Sir Andrew Burns chairs Strategy Implementation at the IHRA, which includes chairing the Grant Review Committee for external projects and the Assessments Board for internal projects. He is a former UK Ambassador to Israel, and served as UK Special Envoy for Post-Holocaust issues and Head of the UK Delegation to the IHRA for five years.

Working Group and Committee Chairs

Chair of the Academic Working Group: Oula Silvennoinen (Finland)

Chair of the Education Working Group: Martin Winstone (United Kingdom)

Chair of the Museums and Memorials Working Group: Yossi Gevir (Israel)

Chair of the Committee on Antisemitism and Holocaust Denial: Jurmet Huitema-de Waal (The Netherlands)

Chair of the Committee on the Genocide of the Roma: Stéphane Laederich (Switzerland)

Chair of the Committee on the Holocaust, Genocide and Crimes against Humanity: Moritz Wein (Austria)

Sign up to our newsletter to 

receive the latest updates